to allow, or not to allow……

 

'To be, or not to be: that is the question:
Whether 'tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune,
Or to take arms against a sea of troubles,
And by opposing end them or die...' W.S.
to allow or not to allow: that is the question
is it better for me to suffer from my own
ministrations, or would I be better-served to arm
myself against my own mind’s end and to
render myself useful again by letting life
have it way with me….
The allowing of well-being, the confabulation
of joy and gratitude, these are the aims of man.
By opposing the egoic stalemate of mental
conflict, I allow a greater, more natural instinct
to prevail; and when I do this, I am helped by
the laws of the universe to live a natural life
where my next moves are governed by desires
of the heart rather than success of the ego.
Even death of the body, the inevitable result
of sentient birth is served when conflict is
removed from internal dialogue.
Mindfulness, soulfulness is a state of grace
that allows for the human spirit to emerge as
the proper heir of human birth. With the seeds
of humanity all gathered in the unconscious
location, our primary task on the way to fulfillment,
is to allow for the instincts to have greater reins
as we move through decisions that adapt us ever
closer to our own authenticity.
In the mind, which is the seat of our personal
experience, our ever evolving humanity is adapting
to the conditions that it must survive to continue to exist.
When we color the experience with our system of
affectations (gratitude, joy, hatred, resentments)
we are not only coloring the experience of
the moment, but we are coloring the conditions by
which we will be choosing the next moment.
In effect it is our choice in the moment and in the
immediate next moment that builds, in time, the
experience that we call our lives. This experience
evolves as the choices confirm and create a positive
or a negative sensation from which we continue to
co-create our lives and, indeed, the life of all humanity.
Spitit-uality is a word that can hold some of these
concepts up close to our experience. The closer we are
to the truth that we create our realities, the healthier
we become in mind, body and spirit–christianity has
named this the father, the son and the holy ghost. Other
systems of thought and philosophy use similar concepts
to name the experience of living. It does not seem to
matter what system of intellectuality is used to understand
life. The important dimension that we must keep close
to consciousness is that we are ever choosing, and that act
of choice is readying us for the next act of choice. Once
we believe this, we can begin to be more deliberate about
choice and immediately begin to experience the sensation
of co-creating our existence. This brings a comfort and
a joy to life that may well have escaped us previous to
our consciousness about deliberate intent.
3 comments on “to allow, or not to allow……

  1. Collette Williams says:

    Amen! I especially relate to your comment: “I am helped by the laws of the universe to live a life where my next moves are governed by desires of the heart rather than success of the ego.” The offsense/defense moves of ego in a demanding, unsafe world – wear me out. I am my own worst eneny when I engage ego and unwittingly can’t, won’t, or don’t turn if off to the extent that ego finally turns on me. That’s when I need Pop-eye to remind me “I yam, what I yam!” … and then let go and let God! Those simple reminders reunite me with humor, wit, lightness of being, and rightsizing … then I can flow and be of use to myself and others in a universe in need of compassion, hope, creativity, authentic expression and love!

  2. Harold G. Neuman says:

    Alas, Friend Al, me thinks thou dost think too much. And that is probably a function of your OEOs (observations, experiences and opinions) as amassed from an education and as a practitioner. Just a notion, you see. Billy Shakespeare was a fine, emotive force. It does not even matter who he really was, identitywise. What we do or do not allow of/for ourselves depends very much upon how we feel about our intellect, as compared with that of our peers and co-inhabitants. I saw something else today regarding Ayn Rand, another thinker and narcissism, and I thought: of course! Our ideas are shaded by our own feelings of superiority or inferiority. This a natural human proclivity and ordinary folks just cannot help themselves. Well, I have already said too much, so: happy fourth of July to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

