86 Sanctuary Road

DSCN0033

This blog was developed after hearing Reverand  Betty Kornitzer’s sermon today.  This is the second time this month that I am inspired to write about my Sanctuary.  Home is form like ever other piece of material is form.  However, while my body still has form, I am ever grateful for having a home, a place to return to even when the world is very kind and loving I never fail to feel the blessing of Home when I arrive and smell the unique smells that make up my Sanctuary, see the unique sights that illuminate my sanctuary and taste the feeling of my soul at home.

Home is where I put myself together when I feel broken. It is where my shoes slip off safely by the door and sit beneath where my sweater hangs.  It is the cool breeze that comes up from the lake in the spring and the brutal winds that come up over the lake mid-winter.  It is where I express my joys and where I express my sorrows.

I spent a life time admiring the Transcendentalist of the mid nineteenth century, those noble men & women from Concord who gave us American Literature.  But recently, only since I moved into this cabin on “Walden-Pond South,” I have become aware that I am a Transcendentalist in my own right.  And, moreover, I love the revolutionary, self-reliant man that this movement provides for me.  Emerson and his contemporaries, lived in communes, despised the urbanization of the woodlands, cultivated their own food & friends, they shared their bounty and commiserated  their joys. The love of Nature and the idea that we are each capable of discovering our own inner divine these are still concepts that we can live with in 21st century Amerika.

Forest Church, a Unitarian Universalist minister who just passed away this past September is quoted as talking about fear in this manner:  Fear, he said, protects us not from death, but from life.  I loved that he spoke of people dying from healthy life styles, people die who have low cholesterol, people die while jogging, while cooking whole foods and even in the midst of prayer.  This a paraphrase, but I love the picture that it creates for me. I s0 often feel that right-action will protect me from death.  Actually, nothing can do that.  But what I do need protection from is my own self-serving ego.  And the place where I can most easily put my ego to rest and awaken the soul in me, is at Home–in my case, 86 Sanctuary Road.

Find a home for your soul to rest & everything else will flow from that fountain of security.  Impermanent as it is, home is as close to security as we can find any place on earth.

9 comments on “86 Sanctuary Road

  1. Colleen says:

    Beautifully said Al! I am a big believer in making home a sanctuary …. it happens to be one of my favorite places to hang out. As always, thanks for your wise words!

  2. thegreeningspirit says:

    Betty’s sermon and your post is so touching, Al..it touched such a sensitive spot for so many of us…there was an audible intake of breath from the congregation when she ended. and your post echoes that.

    I almost went up to light a candle of concern…as I am at the point in my own life, when, due to the economic situation and it’s impact on my work (I am now under-employed) that I face the daily strain, stress and heartache of wondering whether I will be able to keep or lose my own Sanctaury, my home. I am at a critical point right now, and do not know whether or not my Sanctuary will continue to give me refuge. What I do know is that, in spite of what unfolds, that I live within a greater Sanctuary, the Sanctuary of the Heart. I hope I am able to take the warmth of that Sacred Hearth within me and that it will give me the fire of Courage as I face this challenge, which I know is one I do not face alone in this culture at this time.

    This post and Betty’s message is very personally poignant.

    • aldussault says:

      thank you for your kind words and for also expressing your self so fully…but I can not seem to find your name anywhere on the post or this e mail…would love to know who you are..Please write back and leave your name—you can sent it to aldussault@cox.net if you like thank you

  3. thegreeningspirit says:

    …as authoress of the above post, I would also say, Al, thank you for being a Brother-Writer to my Sister-Writer trying to emphasize the positive, while also acknowledging the darker challenges we face in this culture and economic climate.

    I am taking great comfort especially in the companionship of the fine Unitarian/Universalist Community that we have been welcomed into..and yes, that Community has also become a beautiful Sanctuary of Spirit and Kindness….

    Love and blessings, Christine Phoenix-Green
    http://thegreeningspirit.wordpress.com

  4. thegreeningspirit says:

    Yes, Al…the above posts are from me!

    Christine Phoenix-Green, http://thegreeningspirit.wordpress.com

  5. Bill says:

    Al. I you don’t need to choose a direction. You have one. You are righting from your heart. I can’t think of a better place to start from. So…don’t fuss about it’s direction. I think your ego is trying to, yet again, toss a wrench into the works. Your ambivilance is the ego’s voice. Have faith in the collective voice or your heart and soul. That is what I and hear. And…I love your writing as my own voice joins yours as I read along. We are kindred spirits.

  6. MadamTaxi says:

    A healthy, nutritional lifestyle improves quality of life while we are living. enjoy

  7. Chris says:

    I feel sad that I am leaving a beautiful, peacful home on a lake. Yet I am hopeful that where ever I am, I am home.

  8. We have ended up back where we started Al: The Sixties. It is just that this time we are doing it without the drugs and alcohol. Well, maybe a little wine. LOL…

Leave a Reply

