Bonne Heureuse Année 01/01/10

O. K., so I did tell myself that I had to get this nostalgia thing under control, and I admit that beginning my first post of the new year in french does not bode well for the instinctual change that I was aiming for.  But like with all  my addictions, my intentions are so much stronger than the moment in which I am faced with the choice…

The year is two-thousand and ten.  It is a Friday morning and it is the 1st day of January.  How many wishes have I made on December 31st simply to not even notice them vanish by the morning of the 1st.  Writing out the date this morning, I could not help but be reminded of the beginning of some binomial code– One’s & Zero’s stringing themselves ad infinitum to mean some new 11th dimension of space and time.

Last night, while quietly staying at home and waiting for the grossly expensive , eleven hundred pound, Waterford crystal ball to fall, the announcer gave a brief nod to the ec0-friendly manner in which the numbers “2 0 1 0″ would be illuminated this year.  It was a scene right out of the Matrix.  Humans had been recruited to pedal stationary bikes in order to generate the power necessary to light the numbers in Time Square…I got to thinking, that with all the recent people that we now have permanently unemployed, why not simply harness them to electrical generators and let them pedal their way to the next meal.  After all we do have a new condition in which the economy will recover, i.e., the very wealthy will have back all the monies they lost gambling on Wall street, and we will sustain a new 20% unemployment rate, complete with foreclosures, homelessness, & bankruptcies.

The middle class will be shrunk by a good chunk of multi-millions of  people; the elite aristocracy will continue to build new Asters and Duponts and the abject poor will once again be blamed for their own circumstances.  But instead of simply blaming them, perhaps we could also punish them while making them useful–sort of, in the way that old ore-locked battle ships chained men and boys to the ores and whipped them to power the ship across the sea.

But now, we can have camps, maybe even under bridges with thousand’s of stationary bikes lined up and strung together as energy generating machines.  It would help to provide several answers to this coming decades problems.  First and foremost we would not have to build ugly-not-in-my-back-yard windmills.   And each township across the country would be responsible for collecting enough unemployed peddlers to illuminate their own towns and industries.

Without knowing it Carson Daly in his once a year moment of fame, pointed to the answer to our energy crisis.  We only need to peddle or paddle our way back to days of gilded  glory.

I know that i am suppose to be nice today, and wink and nod and tell everyone that hope and abundance  & prosperity are waiting in the wings of 2010 and that everything will be all right because we are starting fresh and the universe will supply everyone with all that they need, and if the universe does not do it maybe the Salvation Army or the Johnnycake center will.

I am mad, mad at a world that lets the fat cats be named such, then congress goes home without as much as indicating that financial regulations and the banking industry will even be considered as needing reform.  But, I suppose we can not blame the poor congress, they had a rough time all ready this year, pretending to help the American Health Industry while supplying the Insurance and Pharmaceuticals everything that their lobbies wanted.  Why else would stock prices rise some 20% after the announcement of the law was passed.

We do not have health reform as a christmas present, we have a chunk of coal in the form or a bill that will make the health insurance giants also too big to fail.  By the way, too big to fail means that the corporation is bigger and more powerful than the government so it can not be stopped from it cancerous growth on the american society.

Well, it is unfair for me to continue this rant.  Not many people want to read discouraging news on the 1st day of the year.  I should at least wait to publish this blog tomorrow, once the champagne and the egg nog has digested and we are well on our way to forgetting the resolutions and returning to business as usual.  But, I won’t, because I have absolutely no impulse control and there is the outside chance that this blog-rant will wake up a few people and that we will begin to collect dissatisfaction and begin to store this as a energy propelling us to think and act more liberally and more progressively as we march forward into a new decade.

You see, I do have hope, but my hope comes from collective bargaining.  My hope is based in my fellow Americans who many times in the past saw injustice and rose to the occasion–I do not believe in the power of positive thinking as the sole act of creation that can bring about change.  We humans are constructed with both positive and negative energy charges governing our will.  The fusion of truth to a desire for change is a powerful weapon against the dust and grim and the corrosion that poverty and injustice induce on my mankind.

So as a new blanket of snow falls against and covers for a brief time the earth in” pure as the driven snow” splendor, I want to wish you all a most happy, a most prosperous & and most humble and grateful new year.  And I wish for us all that we do not confuse positive manifestations with empty passive wishes.  For life to be the down stream that we wish it to be, our senses must be awaken to not only positive feelings, but to  a deeply, sacred connection to universal oneness in the form of truth.  God Bless,

Al Dussault, Ph.D.

Charlestown, Rhode Island

3 comments on “Bonne Heureuse Année 01/01/10

  1. Collette Williams says:

    You spoke your truth … what better way to start the New Year! I don’t think we have a two-party system anymore – just a Congress and Senate made up of biased BSer’s. Look at the bastardized health reform bill that squeeked through the Senate last week – once enough political bribes where honored to seal the deal. I hoped that Obama could do better but I think the corrupt Washington infrastructure was more entrenched than he knew or could crack. The battered Middle Class continues to take a pounding with no new jobs in sight. The real unemployment rate is indeed 20%. HELLO WASHINGTON!! – Do any of you care enough to do something NOW! I didn’t think I had anger in me today but we are made up of light and dark and I am a “Yin” Pisces – often drawn to the serious part of my nature. Three days ago my son and his girlfriend phoned my husband and I to see if they could get a box of food from “We Share” (a new nonprofit food distribution program that we’ve particiapted in that’s feeding the needy around RI & MA). My son has a neighbor who’s in crisis – a pregnant, single mother who just lost her job the day before Christmas. My husband told them the center would gladly provide food (without any “red tape”). Two hours later our son’s girlfriend brought the neighbor 3 packed boxes of food that included fresh vegetables and bread. My son later told us that the woman cried when she saw all the food they brought her! Grateful tears of relief! I see times getting better in 2010 from the “ground up” – “WE the people” CAN! “They” the money and power wielding politicians, CEO’s and Bankers/Brokers, will continue to grab and keep what they can 1st. My advice for those who care or are in need is, don’t wait for any “trickle down” from the top – act on your passionate concerns now, no matter how small the actions may appear. A little done by a lot adds up and makes a huge difference! Wishing peace, wellness, abundance, divine guidance in the New Year.

  2. dennis d says:

    J swift incarnate! I do not know if I can say “the best” piece so far because I am new to the distribution list but this is one of the best for sure. Polish this up and submit it to a larger audience. You have taped a classic trope and cloaked it in modernity; it will stand up to time in the pages of Atlantic Monthly or the New Yorker, or on the guest pages of Salon or Huffington. Je vous souhaite mes sentiments distingues

Leave a Reply

